Sticky Holsters - Color Logo
Close this search box.

Florida Concealed Carry Permit and Application Info | CCW FL

Recent posts

At first glance, applying for a Florida concealed carry permit can appear daunting. However, an overview of concealed carry information in Florida can alleviate the headache that comes with reading the fine print. Cut through the red tape with these Florida concealed carry facts to make the process easier.

Shall-Issue vs May-Issue

Knowing the difference between shall and may when it comes to concealed carry laws will help you in your research. Florida is a “Shall-Issue” state, meaning that the granting authority (county sheriff, police department, etc) shall issue a license if certain requirements are met. Basically, if your information checks out, you’re guaranteed a permit.

A “May-Issue” state is just how it sounds. Your information checks out but the issuing authority can pass judgment whether or not you should be granted a permit. Know your state’s permit policy first.

Concealed Carry in Florida: The Basic Requirements

  • You must be 21 years old
  • You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm
  • You must reside in the United States AND be a US citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, US Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS). If you are in the United States Armed Forces and serving overseas, submit a copy of your deployment papers with your application. ‘Resident Aliens’ must provide a valid Permanent Resident Alien card.
  • You must not have a disqualifying criminal record

Concealed Weapon Application for Florida

Download the Florida Concealed Weapon Application to begin. Once complete, you can submit it one of three ways.

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687

As part of your application, you must include the following:

  • A complete and legible set of fingerprints or a copy of your receipt for electronic fingerprint submission
  • A passport-type color photo
  • A check or money order for $112, payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. The total fee includes two separate fees (License Fee: $70, Fingerprint Processing Fee: $42). If you had your fingerprints electronically scanned at a local law enforcement agency, you do not need to include the $42 fingerprint processing fee.
  • Training documentation: A copy of a Certificate of Completion proving competency with a firearm
  • Court documentation reflecting final disposition of any arrests (if applicable)

Training Documentation for CCW in Florida

When registering for your CCW training, there are many options. A certificate of completion from the following classes or courses is acceptable documentation for a Florida CCW application:

  • A NRA firearms safety or training course
  • A firearm safety course by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college, or private or public institution using certified NRA instructors. Instructors may also be certified by the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission, or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
  • A law enforcement firearms safety course for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division of law enforcement
  • A firearms training class using a state certified instructor
  • A hunter safety course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation

All information provided is accurate and up-to-date as of December 19, 2014. 

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive timelv updates on vour favorite products.